Friday Fictioneers – A day in the Life

It’s been a while.

This will be my last post of 2015. I hope everyone’s had a fabulous Christmas and gearing up for an even better New Year.

If you’d like to join in the latest Friday Fictioneers run by the lovely Rochelle, please find the latest photo prompt and rules here. Just write to 100 words then stop!

Add your link to the blue frog when you’re done.

Happy New Year everyone. See you in 2016!

Copyright Jean L. Hays

Image courtesy of Jean L. Hays

A Day in the Life

Sunlight shines through the stained glass window. I study the list of names, tracing my finger over the first.

It disappears.

A form appears in the chair opposite me.

‘It’s a little disorientating at first,’ I say.

He spins round, scanning left and right. ‘Where am I?’  Panic stings his eyes.

‘I’d like to collect everyone personally, but with population numbers this is more…convenient.’ I smile, touching his head.

His mind fills with his final moments.

I hand him a note, two words – ‘Rebirth or Serve’, written on it.

‘Choose,’ I say.

He points and disappears.

I move onto the next name.

102 words

14 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – A day in the Life

  1. What an intriguing idea. I like how you’ve used dialogue and how you show so much with a few apt descriptions and actions. I particularly like the touch on the victim’s head to tell him – and us – what’s going on. Wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Grounds For Hope

Poetry, Opinion, Politics

Writers Unite!

A community for writers to learn, grow, and connect.

Archaeological Fantasies

Occam's Trowel, Sifting archaeological fringe to get to archaeological fact.

Philip Carr-Gomm

Philip Carr Gomm

MagickMermaid

Day-Dreamer, Moon-Gazer, Confirmed Contrarian, Artist, Frustrated Cartoonist, Traveler, Perennial Fish Out of Water

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging